Five Games I Want To Play

Posted on April 5, 2009

7


I’m familiar with a few different RPGs thanks to my experiences over the years: (A)D&D and various d20 incarnations, White Wolf’s original World of Darkness games and games using variants of the old Storyteller system (including Exalted 1e), Everway, Amber Diceless, the first edition of Big Eyes, Small Mouth. I’ve also got passing familiarity with other games thanks to reading some books for them or playing them a few times, like Cyberpunk, Tales from the Floating Vagabond and Rolemaster.

However, I don’t have nearly the breadth of experience I would like. There are tons of games I’d love to play, but haven’t had the chance to. It’s hard to narrow down a list of just five, but these are the ones I’ve come up with that I’d like to play the most.

Savage Worlds

Berin Kinsman does a lot of work for this one, and hearing him talk about how much he likes it makes me want to try it. I’m told it has a tactical map focus, but I wonder if that can be gotten around. Since the core is generic, if I could get a handle on it, I bet I could do some really interesting things with it.

Star Wars Saga Edition

I want to play this specifically with the Knights of the Old Republic book, because I love the KotOR games and I prefer that era to the film eras. The mechanics are an outgrowth of 3.5 d20, incorporating some of the things I do like about D&D 4e. The square books thing kinda throws me, but the shape of a book means nothing about the content.

Blue Planet

I really like aquatic sci-fi. I don’t know why, I just do. I also like near-future cyber/transhumanism, and this game delivers in spades. I hear a new edition is coming thanks to the folks at Redbrick, so I’m psyched about possibly getting a chance to play on Poseidon finally.

Cthulhutech

I was immediately turned onto the concept of the Nezzadi when I saw the parallels with the Zentraedi of Macross/Robotech. Plus, I love the drow look (not the powers or the attitude, just the black skin and white hair). I like being able to recognize the influences, and while I’m not usually one for Mythos-based gaming, I like how the Mythos is used here. Humanity still has a chance, so I want to play.

The Veggie Patch

No, you’re not seeing things. Jason Anderson has created a 41-page gem that challenges many basic assumptions about RPGs and provides something that everyone can enjoy, from seasoned gamers to kids just getting into the hobby. It’s got a simple 2d6 system and a focused setting that look like they can be taken up and used in a flash.

Honorable Mentions

I’d like to try the Coda system Lord of the Rings for its 2d6 take on ideas from d20. Just once, I’d like to take a crack at Precidence Publishing’s first edition of Immortal: the Invisible War to see if someone could help me make sense of the beautiful strangeness they were putting forth. I want to play Earthdawn because it’s close enough to D&D to catch my eye, and different enough to make me curious about its world and mechanics. And finally, Berin Kinsman’s Being Berin Kinsman taunts and teases me, because I want to know how Berin presents the concepts in game form, but I haven’t had the cash to buy a copy!

Posted in: Uncategorized