Interview Delayed, But Big News

Posted on January 20, 2010

0


I was in communication with Randall Stukey, creator of Microlite74, for an interview when his computer died. There’s a possibility that it might be the power supply, meaning he could be back up and running with in a week or so. Let’s hope.

In the meantime, I was just linked to this astonishing news from Cubicle 7: they’re going to produce a brand new book-based Lord of the Rings RPG. The press release indicates that the game will be ready for a release in the second half of this year, and is being designed by a team lead by award-winner Francesco Nepitello.

Cubicle 7 have exploded recently, with games such as the English translation of 7th Circle’s Qin: the Warring States, and the acclaimed Starblazer Adventures, the FATE-powered game of space opera action. This new release should serve to set them high in the gaming consciousness. We have no other details yet, so comparisons can’t really me made either to Decipher’s Lord of the Rings Roleplaying Game or to the long-running and wildly-successful Middle Earth Role Playing from Iron Crown Enterprises. Middle Earth is a notoriously difficult license to manage, so Cubicle 7 will have to be careful, but Nepitello has experience translating Tolkien’s masterwork into gaming form.

I am excited and will be eagerly awaiting this new release. I may not be the world’s biggest Middle Earth fan, but I do have quite the fondness for it. I liked the design of Decipher’s effort and I hope this new release will be as easily-accessible. MERP was detailed and rich, but the Rolemaster-lite system was still a bit too chewy for my tastes most of the time. I did very much enjoy the LOR adventure game, as evidenced by my “genericizing” it to create Simfanad (more on that later, too, I promise), but I suspect the new TOR RPG will be closer to Decipher’s.

Posted in: Uncategorized