Interview with the AntiPaladins: Mini Six Bare Bones Edition

Posted on August 18, 2010

1


Ray Nolan and Phil Morris of AntiPaladin Games recently released a drastically revised and expanded version of their Open d6-based microlite, Mini Six. This new “Bare Bones Edition” comes in a beautiful, easy-to-use 38 page PDF that weighs in at only 6.95 megabytes. Not only does the document include the Mini Six rules, it also offers variant rules for playing Mini Six closer to “base” Open d6 (as presented in the now-free d6 Adventure, Fantasy and Space books) and includes multiple setting seeds, all of which include background and crunchy bits tailored to the settings.

Phil and Ray graciously accepted my request to interview them about this fantastic new edition. As with my previous interview with them, both men took the time to respond to my questions.

When did you decide to do a new edition of MiniSix?

Ray: When we put out the first version last December we didn’t expect it to get much attention. It was about eight pages of really small text. It was functional but ugly. We knew before the end of the month.

Did you know what you wanted to do straight off or was it more a process of ideas?

Ray: At first we just wanted to update the layout, but as we changed directions. There have been at least three completely different versions planned out. If we knew how to tackle the project, we probably could have finished it much quicker.

Phil: There was definite learning curve to the process and that helped us figure out how to eventually direct the book.

How do you feel about the new edition?

Ray: I’m proud of it. It’s lean by OpenD6 standards but I think we managed to cram more in there than games with much longer page counts.

Phil: I’m with Ray on this too. I am really pleased with how it eventually turned out and by the amount of information somehow squeezed into those pages that is still usable. It has been well received so far too and that has been a big bonus.

What have you been doing with it?

Ray: We’ve been playing a supers game for most of the spring and summer, and last spring we did some science fiction stuff.

What’s your favorite part?

Ray: The short setting Precinct 77. Phil and I were watching a comedy cop buddy show on tv and I said that could be fun to play, but I didn’t see how to make it into a setting. Cops and robbers is pretty much the easiest scenario in the world. A minute later I joked that “ladies love the ‘stache.” Phil asked me to define that as a character perk and I did. Two hours later we had a setting. I’ve got a thing for 70’s retro in a big way, so that found it’s way in there too.

Phil: I am right there with Ray on this one. I like all the settings in there and am happy that we got to give the Brownies some love in “The Rust Moon of Castia” but my favorite is definitely Precinct 77. But I can really get into light hearted action games.

Judging from the comments I’ve seen in multiple places, the included settings are one of the most popular bits. How long did it take you guys to put those together and what was involved?

Ray: I put together a formula for how to present a setting in only two or four pages. The most important question that had to be answered was “what do the heroes do?” I’ve read settings from professional publishers that never get around to answering that and it always bothers me.

We keep a list of ideas. Some are gaming staples and some are a bit more unique. We wanted to include as many as possible so that people wouldn’t read Mini Six and then call it the Perdition game or the Imperium in Revolt game. We knew we needed some science fiction because OpenD6 has a long tradition with that, but we wanted to include fantasy, modern day, and weirdness in there too. In the end I tackled Perdition in a few nights, and Phil handled Imperium in Revolt in about a week. I started a setting called Haunt Hunters and crashed and burned on it. Phil turned my notes into Farnsley’s Metaphysical Constables – which is very different than my take and much better. Precinct 77 happened in a matter of hours. We would have needed another dozen pages to include all of the ideas we had for that one alone. We started Rust Moon of Castia together, but Phil handled most of the background on that one. I think it took about a week.

You mentioned some errata coming. Are you going to make any noteworthy changes alongside fixing slip-ups?

Ray: There’s no noteworthy changes, just grammar errors and fixing a few charts. There are a few passages which will be tweaked for clarity, but the rules won’t change.

What can you tell us about future plans for Mini Six?

Ray: In the immediate future we’ll be doing a small print run of Mini Six Bare Bones Edition and we’ll be available on Lulu. We’ll update our website with some plain text or .rtf files of the Mini Six Open Game Content so other people can easily remix it. We’ll post some sort of statement about the Mini Six trademark.

Before this year closes we hope to put out a few more settings and those rules for super heroes.

Phil: We are also hoping to put out a few supplemental books to give more plug and play options too.

Thanks again to Ray and Phil. Check out the new edition of Mini Six on the AntiPaladin Games website today!

Posted in: Interview, microlite