Five More Games I Want To Play

Posted on October 12, 2010

2


Back in early April of last year I listed five games I’d like to play to expand my gaming repertoire. A lot has happened since then, so I think it’s time for a new list.

Warrior, Rogue & Mage

Written by my friend Michael Wolf, edited by yours truly. I haven’t gotten a chance to actually play it yet, and I really want to know how it works in practice as well as theory. Considering I’m writing a Wyrm System game, I think the experience will be valuable.

Rogue Trader

The most freedom you’re going to get as a human in the Warhammer 40,000 universe. Characters are more powerful than in the sister game Dark Heresy, though not quite as powerful as the Space Marines of Deathwatch, and it uses the same base rules. Someone will eventually produce a playable-Eldar hack, so I’d like to be familiar with the system when that happens, as I am an Eldar fan.

ICONS

Light, fast supers gaming. This one impressed the hell out of me when it first hit, but I still haven’t gotten to do anything with it. I like how this game makes use of aspects, which I don’t usually care for, and the character creation is quite flexible while remaining dead simple.

Fiasco

This would probably require me finding people experienced with the game itself. I’ve read through it and I think I understand it, but reading and playing are not always the same thing. I like the idea of a game focused on a particular type of story (things going to hell in a handbasket among a particular group of characters) while still being adaptable to all different kinds of genres. The Playset idea is a masterpiece.

BECMI or Rules Cyclopedia D&D

That’s right, D&D where Dwarf and Elf are classes and there are only three alignments! I recently received a copy of the RC for my birthday to replace the one I lost six years ago, and I’m jonesing to put it to use. The Immortals game I’m going to run will use the RC as a reference, but Immortals are so different from anything else in the system it doesn’t really count as RC D&D; plus, I’ll be running that, and I want to play!

Honorable Mentions

Still want to play the Decipher Lord of the Rings. I’ve only ever gotten to play Legacy: War of Ages once, and as I’m a fan of mixing Highlander with WoD-ish things I’d love to do it again. Finally, I like the world of Maelstrom Storytelling a lot; with a good GM, or using the Everway system instead of its native mechanics, I think it’d be a good place to play.

Posted in: Uncategorized